About CT&T

Continental Thought and Theory: A Journal of Intellectual Freedom

Continental theory has a chequered history in academia. Recently, however, as scholars of the new materialism refocus on tensions between modernist and post modernist concepts and questions, Continental theory has had a resurgence. The intellectual world today is facing social and ontological problems and issues—including increasingly, the function of the academy—which strongly suggest that new kinds of questions, critiques, debates and responses are crucial to the relevance of Continental theory in the 21st century.

Continental Thought and Theory (CT&T) responds to this need for international critical engagement. The journal is open access and will issue a call for papers twice a year. Subsequently, a third call will invite responses to the scholarship of the previous two issues. In this way the journal invites and encourages responses, debate and critique from across prominent, mid-career and emerging scholars.

CT&T emerges from the Canterbury School of Continental Philosophy (CSCP) at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. The school was established in 2015 by Associate Professor Mike Grimshaw and Dr Cindy Zeiher to deliberately engage philosophical ideas and key thinkers outside of the analytic movement, which tends to remain dominant in philosophical considerations. The school is inspired by the work of The Australasian Society for Continental Philosophy, of which Assoc. Prof Grimshaw and Dr Zeiher are members.

The school runs a seminar series and encourages discussions relating to current scholarship in the diverse field of Continental philosophy.

Editorial Board

Managing Editors

Mike Grimshaw, University of Canterbury (New Zealand)
Cindy Zeiher, University of Canterbury (New Zealand)

Editorial Board

Roland Boer, University of Newcastle (Australia)
Saitya Brata Das, Jawaharlal Nehru University (India)
Won Choi, Konkuk University (Korea)
Joan Copjec, Brown University (USA)
Clayton Crockett, University of Central Arkansas (USA)
Andrew Dickson, Massey University (New Zealand)
Simone Drichel, Otago University (New Zealand)
Ryan Engley, University of Rhode Island (USA)
Sigi Jottkandt, University of New South Wales (Australia)
Adam Kotsko, Shimer University (USA)
Cherie Lacey, Victoria University (New Zealand)
Hilary Neroni, University of Vermont (USA)
Maria Perez-y-Perez, University of Canterbury (New Zealand)
Marcus Pound, Durham University (UK)
Malcolm Riddoch, Independent Scholar (New Zealand)
Rado Riha, ZRC-SAZU (Slovenia)
Frank Ruda, Goethe-University Frankfurt Main (Germany)
Ted Stolze, Cerritos College (USA)
Jelica Šumič Riha, ZRC-SAZU (Slovenia)
Louis-Paul Willis, Université du Québec (Canada)
Monique Rooney, ANU (Australia)
Georgios Tsagdis, University of Westminster (UK)
Agon Hamza,  ZRC-SAZU (Slovenia)
Gabriel Tupinambá, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)